Chapter 4

Raw Converter: Chii

Editor: Diya

‘Because I’m not the original Alyssa, I can’t speak and act like her. Therefore, I need to quickly get away from the course of the novel so that I don’t seem suspicious.’

That was the decision I made.

‘So that means I have to leave this place. I have to find a way to be free as soon as possible.’

I can move away from the male lead and create a place for the heroine, and live peacefully away from the center of the story. So that when everyone has a happy ending, everything is perfect.

Even though some variables have risen, I already know the clear process of getting the right answer.

‘Because even if I try to do my goals using any means beside Rashid, it’ll all be in vain.’

But I have to think about how to proceed with the process properly.

***

“Mistress, I have brought your tea.”

While thinking about my plan repeatedly, Louise returned with a tray, filled with an elegant pattern of a tea set.

Made with the finest tea leaves, the tea was surprisingly fragrant and rich. The tea went from my mouth to my throat and beyond. I closed my eyes and savored the taste of the tea. It’s enjoyable to have this kind of luxury.

What a great family the Fenvernon Duchy was. Compared to how I lived as an ordinary 22-year-old college student, this world surrounding me now was unimaginable.

At first glance, the Duchess’ bedroom was relatively simple in interior decoration compared to the wealth and reputation of the family. However, if you take a closer look, everything was luxurious.

Every day, the maids swept and wiped the furniture to have a glossy dark color, carpet with delicate patterns, and elegant chandeliers reflected the clear sunlight and shined brightly.

I never thought I’d enjoy this super luxurious life. This all happened thanks to almost being drowned to death. Fate is really ironic.

‘I’ll break up with this mansion soon, but I’ll enjoy myself a lot until then.’

But it was then, when I was in my thoughts and taking another sip of tea.

「The face of Alyssa who was drinking tea was pale and looked like a flower that had already faded away.」

…huh?

「I can’t believe you were pouring out flesh and blood so suddenly.」

What is this?

Suddenly, sentences that I had never thought of began to appear in my head. I was surprised and stopped sipping my tea. My hand that was holding the teacup began to tremble slightly.

「Louise thought that Alyssa Fenvernon might die after suffering so much.」

My eyes widened at the unexpected content. It was ridiculous. What do you mean I might die?

“Wait a minute…”

No, this wasn’t a sound.

I shook my head violently.

“Mistress, what’s wrong?”

Louise’s voice reached my ear. Unlike Louise’s voice that rang in my head and disappeared, this sound remained the same— as if it was sealed in my mind forever.

Have I been thinking too much now? Did this phenomenon occur because I kept thinking about this world? Or is this just a part of my unconsciousness? What the heck is this?

When I tried to concentrate on the sentence while frowning, the letters in my head disappeared without a trace like smoke.

Oh, so it was just a feeling. That’s what I thought it was.

「The Duchess must report to the Emperor before she dies.」

Yet, another sentence popped into my mind as if I were typing it along the way.

「Because it was Louise’s mission that the emperor gave. To monitor the Duchess of the Fenvernon Duchy and to inform him of the Duke’s movements.」

…it wasn’t just a feeling.

Clearly, unknown sentences were suddenly emerging in my head.

Sentences that seemed to explain the situation at this moment revolved around me.

I didn’t think about it, I didn’t see it clearly nor hear it properly, but they left an accurate and clear meaning to me.

「 Louise was convinced once again. Alyssa doesn’t suit the position as Duchess of the Fenvernon Duchy.」

Again. It’s weird. Am I crazy? Am I starting to get delusional? Sentences describing and explaining things as if they were reading a novel were stuck in my head.

Wait…a novel?

Oh, no way.

A flash of intuition flashed through me in an instant. This is the world in a novel.

A novel is made up of sentences.

Then maybe these thoughts that forcibly occupied my head are the sentences of this world that describe the present?

Wait a minute, then, is Louise thinking these words on the inside while pretending to be obedient and light on the outside? It seems like she’s still treating me carelessly. This wasn’t just a matter of hitting and insulting her. 

Will my guess be the answer?

I made an insinuation to provoke Louise in order to confirm my guess.

“Louise, you know what?”

“Yes, Mistress?”

“Do you think I don’t suit the position of being ‘Duchess Fenvernon’?”

As soon as I finished speaking, Louise’s eyes widened. Her green eyes seemed to shake with embarrassment.

“What are you talking about all of a sudden?”

“I thought you’d think that for some reason.”

Louise flinched and waved her hands.

“No, I’ve never done that!”

“Really? Or have you.”

“Oh my God, Mistress, are you sure you’re okay?”

Louise touched my forehead with an exaggerated gesture. It was a gesture asking, “Are you sick?”

I grinned and removed her arm. Seeing that Louise had reacted excessively, it seems that I had directly stabbed at her.

“I just…for some reason, felt that way and said that.”

I’ve never seen such a restless Louise before.

“I still don’t know much about this mansion, and it’s been over a year since I came here.”

“But you’re working hard. So you’ll be fine.”

That means it’s right that I don’t know anything well.

I shrugged my shoulders and spoke casually. Small words such as “This cup is pretty” and “I want to try another type of tea next time,” naturally followed.

It was then.

「 Louise was surprised. This is because Alyssa had spoken as if she had read her mind.」

I soon became even more convinced of my intuition. I was peeking at a part of this world in another perspective. The contents of the sentences I heard before were indeed true.

I waited for a while for this to continue.

But nothing new came to my mind. Seriously, you’re not going to show me any more? I was so curious about what was going to be shown next, because I had no idea how the sentence was created or how it came to my mind.

To be able to read a ‘sentence’ of the novel. It’s an amazing ability. But why did I have this ability? Is it because I’m a human who originally lived outside the book? It certainly felt like I was listening to a novel being read to me.

So, in the future, will these sentences create a whole new story from the original work I know? There were so many things I was curious and upset about.

‘If you’re able to read other people’s minds or the future like this, it’s a terrifying and dreadful ability.’

But if I read meaningless sentences, I’ll just get dizzy.

It’d be better if I could decide the content of the sentence or whenever it comes to my mind, but how it was now was a little disappointing. Still, it seemed to be a third person narrative from an omniscient writer’s point of view. This ability will be very useful if it works well.

I can’t believe this nonsense is possible. Of course, it also doesn’t make sense for a person to enter the world of a novel. (E/n: she’s saying how the ability is nonsense, but at the same time, how a person is able to be in a different world is also nonsense, like her situation)

‘As expected, I’m really from outside this world.’

What’s happening here is only considered a novel to me. Even if the contents were to change a little bit due to the circumstances, it isn’t a reality but a story in a book.

I won’t give or use any special powers then. I’ll just find a way to put myself back in my original world. Then, Alyssa and I won’t destroy the fixed plot. 

…no. Come to think of it, I might die when I get back. I don’t know what happened to my body that fell into the Han River. I don’t even remember getting out of the water.

All I can remember is the black-like water that blocked my breathing, the cold temperature against my skin, and a seemingly never-ending fall…

“Mistress?”

I shrank in surprise. When I was lost in my thoughts, Louise’s voice brought me back to reality.

“Oh, yes, I’m tired. I want to get some rest.”

I beckoned her to come closer with a euphemistic look on my face.

For some reason, Louise couldn’t control her expression and showed a nervous look. I was worried about what she was thinking inside.

Louise is a spy that was planted by the Emperor. It wasn’t surprising since it was a plausible thought. Rather, it’d be a surprise to think she wasn’t one. It wasn’t so strange that she was suspicious of everyone around her, except for Alyssa, the one who solely relied on her.

‘The Emperor is trying to keep the Duke in check and in his control.’

It means that he indeed cares about Rashid’s existence. It seems that my marriage with Rashid is worthwhile that even the Emperor himself checks and gets himself involved with it.

‘He (Rashid) probably thinks that I’m the Emperor’s snitch, someone who tells him Rashid’s every single move.’

The thought reminded me of Rashid’s hostility and wariness towards me. Now that I think about it, it’d be reasonable to doubt me from his point of view.

I stared at Louise who was cleaning up the tea.

I had never seen Louise’s name when I read the novel. She was probably just a Maid 1, or she left the mansion after Alyssa died.

I don’t know what to do with her. I think I’ll have to let her go once I know her true colors behind that polite facade. Is that what I should call it? Is it even possible to do that?

I’ll have to get Louise out of the room first. So many things had happened all of a sudden that my mind was exhausted. I needed some time to pick my own thoughts up and relax.

“Louise, I want to rest. Can you leave me alone?”

“Oh my God, Mistress…”

“Quickly.”

I strictly cut Louise off. She looked at me for a moment and lowered her head without further ado. She took cautious steps out of the room.

***

Previous Chapter | TOC | Next Chapter

9 responses to “Chapter 4”

  1. Thank you for the chapter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the chapter! This was intense

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is the matrix all over ;V.

    Thanks for the chapter!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the update ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for the chapter ❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. gatocheshirecha Avatar
    gatocheshirecha

    Arigato.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oho her life is turning into a novel? Is our FL getting a power up?

    As I’d thought, Louise rubbed me the wrong way

    Liked by 1 person

  7. that1villainess Avatar
    that1villainess

    ❤️💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started